Skip to main content

New Mexico State University (NMSU) proposed an Upward Bound Program to serve the Las Cruces Public Schools (LCPS) and Gadsden Independent School District (GISD) which are located in an area that ranks among the poorest in the United States (US) in average per capita income, with 27.9% of the total population living below the poverty line and 39.4% of this figure being comprised of children. In the target area 78% of persons over 25 years of age have a high school diploma or an equivalent.  For those economically disadvantaged students who do graduate, only 40.7% continue their education by entering postsecondary institutions.

Doña Ana County (Population 214,295), where the school districts are located, is at the southernmost part of the state of New Mexico. The county adjoins the Mexican and Texas borders to the south and encompasses a total area of 3,807 square miles.  The target area’s economy is heavily dependent on agriculture, service related industries and state and federal agencies.

According to the New Mexico Public Education Department (NMPED) the Las Cruces Public School District is the largest school district in Doña Ana County and the second largest within New Mexico.  The district serves students living in Las Cruces (Population 101,643) the state’s second largest city and the county seat.  The Gadsden Independent School District is the fourth largest school district in New Mexico serving the rural and sparsely populated communities of the county. In Doña Ana County, the need to provide the educational services offered by Upward Bound is critical to enhancing the futures of the youth in the target area.

2017-2018 Calendar

Objectives

  • Increase Participant Academic Performance–Grade Point Average (GPA)
  • Increase Participant Academic Performance on Standardized Test
  • Increase Participant Secondary School Retention and Graduation 
  • Increase Participant Secondary School Graduation 
  • Increase Participant Post-Secondary Enrollment 
  • Increase Participant Post-Secondary Completion

UB – GISD/LCPS Team

Rosa De La Torre-Burmeister Program Director (575) 646-4255 rosadela@nmsu.edu
Lucy Gurrola Student Program Coordinator (575) 646-5732 lgurrola@nmsu.edu
Vince Engling Student Program Coordinator (575) 646-7208 vienglin@nmsu.edu
Christine Banks Administrative Assistant (575) 646-5732 cbp@nmsu.edu

UB Advocates at Target High Schools

Gadsen
(575) 882-6300
Jenny Gonzalez, Counselor,  jugonzalez@gisd.k12.nm.us

Maria Grubaugh, Registrar,  mgrubaugh@gisd.k12.nm.us 

Isela Martinez, Counseling Secretary  imartinez@gisd.k12.nm.us  

Santa Teresa

(575) 589-5300

Sharlene Jessel, Computer Clerk,  sjessel@gisd.k12.nm.us.

Monica Rodriguez, Registrar, monrodriguez@gisd.k12.nm.us

Gloria Gairbay-Flores, Counselor, ggaribay@gisd.k12.nm.us

Melissa Cobos, Counselor, mcobos@gisd.k12.nm.us

Las Cruces

(575) 527-9400

Ms. Laura Conelley – Registrar – lconelle@lcps.net

Joe Teran, STEM Academy Counselor, jteran@lcps.net

Mayfield

(575) 527-9415

Vicky Alarcon, Counselor,  valarcon@lcps.net

Debra Preece, Registrar,  dpreece@lcps.net

Sandra Sanchez, Assistant Registrar, ssanchez@lcps.net

Oñate

(575) 527-9430

Dineke Tarin, Counselor,  dtarin@lcps.net

Elena Guerrero, Assistant Registrar, eguerrero@lcps.net