Skip to main content

The Upward Bound Program at New Mexico State University is a federally funded, year round college preparatory program serving eligible high school students from the Alamogordo Public Schools (APS), Gadsden Independent School District (GISD)/Las Cruces Public Schools (LCPS), and Hatch Valley Public Schools (HVPS).


The mission of the NMSU TRIO Upward Bound Programs is to assist students from eligible high schools to successfully complete their secondary and post-secondary education.


The purpose of the Upward Bound (UB) Programs is to generate in program participants the skills and motivation necessary to complete a program of secondary education and to enter and succeed in a program of post-secondary education.

Upward Bound provides fundamental support to participants in their preparation for college entrance.
The Programs provide opportunities for participants to succeed in pre-college performance and
ultimately in higher education pursuits.  Upward Bound serves high school students from low-income families,
and/or high school students from families in which neither parent holds a Bachelor’s degree.


The goal of the Upward Bound Programs is to increase the rates at which participants enroll in and graduate from institutions of post-secondary education.


The New Mexico State University TRIO Upward Bound Programs are 100% funded through grants by the U.S. Department of Education under the Higher Education Act of 1965.